Our region

The region’s 26,910 km square kms includes the cities and townships of Ballarat, Hamilton, Warrnambool, Ararat, Casterton, Mortlake, Port Fairy, Beaufort and Portland. There are four basins in the region: Glenelg, Millicent, Hopkins and Portland Coast.

The boundaries of the region include marine and coastal waters out to the state limit of three nautical miles. The south has flat volcanic plains, while the Grampians, Dundas tablelands, Black Ranges and Central Highlands dominate the north.

Read more about our our region in the 2021-2027 Regional Catchment Strategy

Building blocks for a healthy and resilient landscape

Our community, water, biodiversity, land, and marine and coast are the main building blocks for a healthy and resilient regional landscape.